Memberships Page

Welcome to our Memberships Page

To qualify to be a member of your Community Council and to vote in a Community Council election, you must :

  • be named on the electoral register for the area
  • reside in the Mayfield or Easthouses area
  • be 16 years or over

If a member fails to attend for a period of 6 consecutive months then their membership will be withdrawn.

Co-opted Members

You can be co-opted to serve on a Community Council to fill a vacancy You must qualify to be members of the Community Council; You must be voted on to the Community Council by a two thirds majority; You will have full voting rights

Associate Members

You can be appointed in addition to the membership where there is a need for individuals with a specific skill. You need not be resident in the area and will serve for a fixed period off time, during that time you will have no voting rights.

Ex-officio Members – ex-officio means by right of position or office.

Therefore any Midlothian Councillor, MP, MSP or MEP whose ward falls within the Mayfield & Easthouses area can be an ex-officio member. They have no voting rights and cannot stand for the Community Council.

Office Bearing Roles

The 5 main roles within your Council are:

Elections to Mayfield & Easthouses Community Council take place on a three yearly cycle.   The most recent elections took place at the AGM in June 2022.

To support members of the Community Council, and for anyone interested in joining, here is a Community Councillor Induction Pack.

Current members:

  • Robert Hogg – Chair
  • Michael Hogg – Vice-Chair
  • Judy Thomson – Treasurer
  • Theresa Morrison – Secretary
  • Craig Gallier – Environmental Officer
  • Stephen Liddell – Planning Officer
  • Brian Martin – Planning Officer
  • Sharon Hill – MAEDT representative
  • George Jackson
  • Tracylee Armit
  • Cal Haston
Secured By miniOrange