Mayfield and Easthouses Community Council (CC)

Minutes of Annual General Meeting (AGM)

7<sup>th</sup> June 2023 7pm – Mayfield and Easthouses Church

Attendees: Robert Hogg (Chair, CC), Judy Thomson (Treasurer), Stuart McKenzie, Theresa Morrison, George Jackson, Craig Gallier, Stephen Liddell, Peter Smaill, Sharon Hill, Bryan Pottinger, Michael Hogg, Susan Ryan, Jennifer Allison, Laura D'Arcy, Eileen Kerr, Arthur Blackhurst, Cal Haston

Apologies: Brian Martin, Tracylee Armit

### 1. Apologies and Introduction

The Chair welcomed everyone to the 2023 AGM and thanked the Councillors for their continued attendance and support. Thanks were also given to all members of the committee and officials.

### 2. Minutes from April 2022 AGM

Minutes from last year's AGM were read out. Minutes were then approved by George Jackson and seconded by Craig Gallier.

### 3. Update on Community Council Actions during 2022/23

The Chair updated the CC on the progress and actions carried out on behalf of the community council over the last year:

- New houses are being built, including over a thousand at South Mayfield site. Also, two new schools on the way.
- New housing developments and consultations Old Bryan's School site 67 houses/flats, South Mayfield 1000+ houses/flats and North Mayfield 169 houses/flats. Old caravan site still awaiting planning permission.
- In It Together, led by MAEDT, requires reinvigorating. Planning to launch the Masterplan properly.
- A new projector was acquired with the help of a grant. Thanks to the Church for agreeing to store the new equipment.
- Community Council is leading on a Local Place Plan for the area. This will feed into the Local Development Plan. Thanks for Brian Martin for all his work on this.
- Continued involvement in Midlothian Federation of Community Councils and with MTRaP (Midlothian Traffic, Roads and Paths) Group. For these groups, appreciation was given to Paul Johnson for his continued support.
- Thanks to all three local councillors have worked well with the Community Council over the last year to benefit the community.
- The Facebook group now has over 10k members, which can take a lot to administrate but is very effective to disseminate information to the community.
- Craig was acknowledged for his considerable work on environmental issues, especially regarding badgers.
- Thanks were given to Theresa Morrison for taking notes and to Stephen Liddell

and Judy Thomson for their hard work.

 Lastly, a mention and appreciation for Cal who was co-opted on to the Community Council in March 2023 following his 16<sup>th</sup> birthday.

## 4. Nominations and Appointments of Officials

All current positions were voted in during the AGM in 2022 and stand for 3 years, so there was no need for any changes to be made apart from Cal joining part way through the year (mentioned above).

Confirmation of Community Council members for the minutes:

Chair: Robert Hogg Vice Chair: Michael Hogg Treasurer: Judy Thomson Minute Secretary: Theresa Morrison Planning Officer: Steven Liddell Planning Officer: Brian Martin Environmental Officer: Craig Gallier

#### Members:

George Jackson Tracylee Armit Cal Haston

#### 6. Treasurer's report

The accounts have been independently checked by John Aitchison, Treasurer for Bonnyrigg and District Community Council (in a reciprocal agreement). There is an end of year balance of £7019.44. There were no comments or questions regarding the accounts.

# 7. A.O.B

No other business Chair closed meeting.

Next AGM will take place Wednesday 6<sup>th</sup> June 2024.